Coffee Cravings

30 Jul

I would have to say that I am pretty passionate about my coffee intake.  In order to function on a daily basis, I need that java buzz in the morning within an hour or so of waking up.  I’m drawn to all coffee beverages – hot, iced and my summer favorite- frozen.

In my apartment, I have three different coffee makers.   The first is a regular coffee pot by Mr. Coffee which has probably been used 3 times in the past 5 years.  I find that I lack the motivation to brew a pot of coffee, since I’m the only person consuming it.  I know that it’s probably the most fiscally sound decision, in terms of a coffee maker (along with purchasing coffee in bulk at Costco), but I have no desire to measure the coffee and water in the morning after I wake up (maybe it’s the lack of caffeine in my body at that time of day!).

Another one of the coffee makers that I own is by Senseo and in order to make coffee, you must purchase the pods from the company.  This can get pricey, but it’s a fast and effective way to get the coffee to the bloodstream.  I tend to alternate between French Vanilla and Breakfast Blend.  I use two pods in order to make one bigger mug of coffee.  Depending on how awake I am after consumption, that may suffice.  If not, I will pop another pod in and then have a cup and a half total.

The last coffee maker I own is another birthday gift I recently received from my boyfriend.  It is by Toddy Coffee and it is a cold brewing system.  Essentially, it’s a fantastic way to make iced coffee in your the comforts of your own home.  The catch?  The system is based on soaking coarse coffee grounds in cold water over a 12-hour period at room temperature.  Therefore, you have to think ahead when making the iced coffee.  Since the brewing system holds up to 1 lb. of coffee and the brewed coffee will last up to 14 days in the refrigerator, you will have plenty of time to consume the iced coffee.

My latest coffee cravings have been in the afternoon when I need that extra jolt.  This week alone, I’ve already gone to Starbucks twice, at around 3pm, and ordered a Grande Coffee Frappuccino Light with extra coffee(I’m sure I got the order of the title wrong, don’t we always?).  It serves as a great afternoon snack because it has only 110 calories.

Just today, a list of the most caffeinated cities came out.    Seattle, Portland and San Jose rank as the top 3.  Miami did make it in the top 20, coming in at number 13.  I am glad to know that I have now positively contributed to something in Miami!

What is your preferred coffee maker?

5 Responses to “Coffee Cravings”

  1. Ben July 31, 2010 at 11:59 pm #

    The Toddy coffee is very easy to make if you FOLLOW the directions closely. When we went to make it yesterday, we didnt read the directions so I put the stopper in the bottom under the filter instead of at the bottom. The result a waste of half a pound of coffee 😦

    • eatmoremeatless August 1, 2010 at 12:05 am #

      Too bad it was ONE pound of coffee, I think you owe me!!!

    • Leah August 1, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

      oh boy… i heard about this one.

  2. Rista August 1, 2010 at 12:11 am #

    I like French Press coffee makers! The coffee tastes delicious and full of flavor when you use freshly ground coffee beans. We buy whole beans and have a small grinder that we use each time we use the French Press. The result is an amazing cup of coffee. 🙂

  3. Emily August 2, 2010 at 6:25 am #

    The aeropress is by far the tastiest, most convenient, easy clean-up coffee maker I’ve come across… And you can make single servings! 🙂

Leave a Reply

