A Vegetarian’s Burger

2 Aug

Okay, so this is my third post and I’ve yet to discuss my vegetarianism with you. The title of my blog is Eat More Meat Less and if you’ve read my “About Me” section on this blog, you know that I’ve been a vegetarian about half of my life. I became a vegetarian for ethical reasons and continue for those same reasons, as well as for my health. I am a lacto-ovo vegetarian and therefore consume dairy products, like eggs and milk. In fact, cheese is one of my favorite foods!

I have a friend staying with me for a few days and after spending about an hour at Publix, (note to self- going to the grocery store while hungry is NOT a good idea), we decided to buy food there and cook dinner at the apartment tonight. We created a dinner menu of veggie burgers, roasted cauliflower and oven fries. Over the years, I’ve tried many brands of veggie burgers and I’ve come to the conclusion that Gardenburger Original is my favorite to buy at the grocery store. The patty is only 100 calories and contains items such as mushrooms, rice, mozzarella cheese.

Hands down, the best veggie burger from a restaurant can be found at Houston’s. Houston’s has a wonderful ambience and elegance that is often difficult to find at a national chain. Houston’s veggie burger brings something to the table that others can’t even come close to. If you do a quick internet search, you can see the amount of people that have been trying to dissect and re-create this particular veggie burger. It contains ingredients such as oats, black beans and even beet juice. If you’re located near a Houston’s and haven’t yet tried it, I strongly recommend it.

Where do you go to grab your favorite burger?

7 Responses to “A Vegetarian’s Burger”

  1. Leah August 2, 2010 at 3:12 am #

    24. deelish! and their veggie burgers are supposed to be amazing as well.

    • David August 2, 2010 at 3:18 am #

      So,….. why do you become a vegetarian anyway?

  2. Candy August 2, 2010 at 3:41 am #

    I love gardenburgers….in fact I also had one tonite for dinner. But…I think the best veggie burger around is a new restaurant in Austin called 24 Diner. They are absolutely delish…and beat others hands down!!

  3. Audrey Palacios August 2, 2010 at 7:11 pm #

    Is it safe to assume you won’t be rating the best BBQ restaurants in Texas on this blog?

  4. Sandy August 4, 2010 at 1:05 pm #

    Haven’t tried 24 but do LOVE Fuddrucker’s veggie burger. Chock full of oats. LOVE IT!

  5. vmacandcheese August 4, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

    Rachel! Welcome to the blogging world — your site looks great! If you are ever in SF, you MUST try the veggie burger at The Plant Organic. I love Houston’s veggie burger too, but the Plant burger is the only one I’ve ever found that might be better. Hope you’re doing well and having fun. — Victoria (from the Anderson days… 🙂 )

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Favorite foods from A-Z « Eat More Meat Less - September 20, 2010

    […] from the toaster. Udon noodles. These are great in a broth or just with vegetables. Veggie burgers. Let’s just say, I have a couple of favorites… Whipped cream cheese. I love it mixed with olives and because it’s whipped – a little goes a […]

Leave a Reply

