Top of the morning to you!

5 Aug

We hear all the time that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Fueling your body with food in the morning sets your mental tone for the day because of the energy you get from eating. I’ve only been eating breakfast on a regular basis for about 8 months now. Prior to that, I thought that if I didn’t eat breakfast, it would help me shed those extra pounds. On the contrary, I find that eating breakfast helps me not over-eat at the next meal and helps me make wiser food choices throughout the day.

It’s important to eat fiber rich and protein packed foods in the morning. This helps our bodies stay fuller for longer. Over the past few months, I’ve been eating the same breakfast every morning. Hey – we are all creatures of habit of some sort, right?

I eat one serving of oatmeal, which is 1/2 cup of dry oats and about 3/4 cup of water. Depending on what I’m craving that morning, I will add different items to the oatmeal. If I’m in the mood for sweet, I’ll add 1 teaspoon of light brown sugar. If I’m in the mood for something with texture, I’ll add cereal, dried fruit or flaxseeds. I also put in a serving of Benefiber into the oatmeal after it’s been heated and it dissolves right into the oats. It doesn’t alter the flavor of the oatmeal, it just helps kick up my daily fiber intake. This breakfast takes less than 3 minutes to make in the morning and it usually keeps me full until lunch.

Are you a creature of habit when it comes to breakfast? What do you eat in the mornings?

4 Responses to “Top of the morning to you!”

  1. Janna August 5, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    I’m all about breakfast these days. I know you are as much a peanut butter lover as I am, so you will appreciate…. my new breakfast on the go is a peanut butter sandwich on honey wheat bread. Sometimes I even throw in some slices of banana. Yum!

  2. Leah August 6, 2010 at 1:41 am #

    i’ve been having PB for breakfast a lot lately as well! i’ll put it on either the thomas bagel thins or english muffins. i also always have a banana to start the day. i feel as though the PB gives me a little more energy than my usual cereal… yum!

    • Kim August 6, 2010 at 8:41 am #

      I absolutely love plain oatmeal. I’ve been eating in for about 5 months now. I usually add some type of fresh fruit like banana or blueberries to sweeten it up naturally. I like your idea of adding Benefiber.

  3. Adri August 6, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

    I get so nauseous in the mornings. Coffee is all my tummy can handle. I’m always in such a rush in the mornings, and work out of my car. hmmm.. I guess I should start eating something I can take on the go. Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

