Biking through the boroughs…

7 Aug

Over the past couple of years, I’ve developed a strong interest in cycling. Currently, I own a Trek Hybrid 700 and I enjoy spending my free time on the weekends biking around Miami. Also, I’m fortunate in that I live close enough to where I work that I bike there during the week.

In May, my boyfriend and I participated in the TD Bank Five Boro Bike Tour 2010.

It’s the largest recreational cycling event in the US, with about 32,000 cyclists participating in the event.

The event consists of biking 42 miles through all five boroughs of NYC, starting in Manhattan and ending in Staten Island.

Since there were so many people participating in the event, it took us two hours to reach the start line!

I trained for this event by biking every weekend for three months, as well as cross-training during the week. The uphill bridges were the toughest part for me because Miami is flat and I didn’t properly prepare for the climbs. My boyfriend on the other hand, has been mountain biking for about 14 years and the bridges weren’t tough for him. Despite the difference in our experience levels, we were still able to stay together throughout the course and finished strong in about five hours (no, the two hours waiting to cross the Start line are not included in that 5-hour period). We had a great time seeing the city throughout the day. Overall, it felt great to physically push myself and train for an end goal.

I’m not sure what I will train for next…I’ve thought about a triathlon or a century bike ride. For now though, I’m enjoying working out at my own pace.

Have you ever trained for an event? How did you decide on the race you participated in?

6 Responses to “Biking through the boroughs…”

  1. Sandy August 7, 2010 at 10:08 pm #

    Proud of you, Rache!

  2. Leah August 8, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    have i ever trained for an event? hm… does the shoal creek shuffle count?

  3. Adrienne August 9, 2010 at 1:25 am #

    Have I ever trained for an event? hmmm. Well as we have moved to Dallas and sought out the JCC for working out, I attempted to speak with a trainer. As we continued to discuss my goals, he says to me “how about you enter to be in a triathalon”, ” do you like to swim” , Adri says: well i like to lay by the pool, “do you like to run”, Adri says: not really, “do you like to bike”, Adri says: I think the last time I actually rode a bicycle was in elementary school, and fell off the bike and was bleeding from my hand. so no maybe I shouldn’t enter a triathalon, I’ll just stick to training and working out at the gym. 🙂

  4. Audrey Palacios August 10, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    I like the way Adri refers to herself in the third person. Adri and I are training for our upcoming weddings by doing bridal boot camp. Does that count?

  5. RunToTheFinish August 10, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    do you still live in miami?? I am afraid to bike here because of the drivers! i really want to get better at it

    • eatmoremeatless August 10, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

      hi amanda! i do live in miami still. i have found it very difficult to ride here too. i just ride the streets of miami beach, in hopes of not getting hit…sad, right?

Leave a Reply

