Treat Yourself

10 Aug

It’s only been within the last few years that I have developed a sweet tooth. On the days where my cravings are really strong, I have to have something sweet before I go to bed. However, I do have some days (though, few and far between lately…) where my sweet tooth is non-existent at nighttime. When treating myself, I try to be mindful of the nutrition value of the dessert and the portion size.

I bring up the topic of dessert because one of the blogs that I read Carrots ‘N’ Cake, just posted today on Levain Bakery and my sweet tooth perked up at 9:30 in the morning. Levain Bakery is a tiny gem in the Upper West Side of New York City. They only have four flavors of cookies and the cookies are the close to the size of a baseball! As a peanut butter addict lover, I love the dark chocolate peanut butter chip. At Levain, they bake the cookies just enough so that the cookie has a firm exterior, yet it is still mushy enough on the inside that it melts in your mouth.

Unfortunately because I don’t live in New York, I can’t get these cookies on a regular basis. Realistically though, I shouldn’t be eating cookies on regular basis anyway! So lately, I’ve been purchasing Publix Frozen Yogurt for my dessert cravings. Naturally, the Peanut Butter Cup flavor is my favorite. At 3 grams of fat per serving (1/2 cup), this makes for a great indulgence in the evenings.

What desserts do you crave? How often do you treat yourself?

11 Responses to “Treat Yourself”

  1. Beth August 10, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    That cookie looks TO DIE FOR. Wow. I like desserts pretty frequently. I basically had dessert for breakfast today with a banana peanut butter and chocolate sandwich that was delicious, but I try to just go with what I’m craving. One of my favorite desserts thats healthy too is sorbet with fresh fruit – Mango sorbet with strawberries is one of my favorite combos.

  2. Adrienne August 10, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    I have 2 low fat graham cracker squares with some honey on them. Delish!

  3. Hillary August 10, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    Gummy bears…well anything gummy really, bears, worms, sharks, peach rings. If its gummy I’ll eat it.

    • Leah August 10, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

      yes, i LOVE gummy and chewy things as well! 🙂

  4. vmacandcheese August 10, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

    Ice cream is my downfall, but to take care of the craving, I like to buy Haagen Dazs frozen yogurt. The yogurt freezes really solid, so it is more similar in texture to ice cream. The coffee or vanilla flavors are really good with some fresh fruit!

  5. Heather August 10, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

    Hi there, discovered your site from a comment on HTP!

    If I get a sweet tooth craving it is usually for ice cream and Ben & Jerry’s is my go to…I strive for a healthy balance and B&J’s is something that I make sure I can work into my life 🙂

  6. Leah August 10, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    i HAVE to have something sweet at night… no matter what time. i CANNOT go to bed without my sweet! it doesn’t have to be crazy fattening, fat free popsicles will do (although those are lame), reduced fat nilla wafers, graham crackers, ice cream, you name it – but i need SOMETHING! lately within the past few months, i’ve been very into froyo. the self-serve kind that’s popping up everywhere you go. my favorite is the tart flavor with fruit on it. i’ll sometimes get a little chocolate with it to really treat myself. what i love about it is that it’s really not so bad for you and i can enjoy it all at the same time. it’s SO refreshing – especially with this texas heat!

  7. Janna August 10, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

    JP Licks frozen yogurt – yum!

  8. Candy August 10, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

    I have to have something sweet every night. It can be as simple as lemon drops to eating disgusting sugary sweet Frosted Flakes or coco puffs mixed with mini marshmallows. (Hey…don’t knock it until you have tried it…fat free!!) Must run in this family.

  9. Sunit August 15, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    I love levain! I make a stop there every time I am in NYC and buy a dozen chocolate chip walnut cookies to bring back with me!

  10. Leah G March 19, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    coco <3s cocoa puffs with marshmallows! HAHAHAHA!

Leave a Reply

