A Mouth-Watering Vacation…

21 Aug

What a whirlwind the past week has been! Sorry for not posting earlier, but I haven’t stopped moving since I got back from the vacation. After many hours in the car, we arrived in Santa Fe on Monday evening. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2.5-bath condo, which was located less than a 10-minute walk from the heart of Santa Fe.

We explored the city through its history, art and food. New Mexican cuisine is unique, because many of the dishes are based with red and green chiles. There is a distinct flavor difference between Tex-Mex and New Mexican. If you grew up eating Tex-Mex, you may understand where I am coming from! I really love spicy food (yet, my stomach doesn’t appreciate as much), so I made sure to try many of the chile-based dishes at the restaurants we went to. Overall, Santa Fe was extremely vegetarian-friendly. Many of the places even specified the vegetarian dishes on the menu! Just a quick snapshot of some of the dishes we tried…

The Shed

Blue Corn Burritos, this is two blue corn tortillas filled with pinto beans, cheddar cheese, onion and covered with green chile and baked

Café Pasqual’s

Grilled Polenta with roasted corn kernels, red chile sauce served with two scrambled eggs

Huevos Rancheros with scrambled egg whites and red chile sauce at Bagel Mania

Okay, so now you’re thinking….even at the place with the word bagel in the name, I ordered New Mexican style food; did we eat anywhere that wasn’t the local cuisine?! We had a wonderful meal our last night in Santa Fe at La Boca, a Spanish tapas restaurant. Tapas style food has grown increasingly popular over the past few years, because you can order so many dishes for the table and everyone can try each dish, by having a bite or two. We ordered around 7 different tapas, here a few of the items we ordered…

I am excited to go back to Santa Fe and continue exploring the city. It’s so gorgeous and there’s plenty to do. I will post more about the trip in the upcoming blog posts.

In the meantime, do you like spicy food? Do the chile-based dishes make your mouth water?

10 Responses to “A Mouth-Watering Vacation…”

  1. Janna August 21, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

    i ❤ polenta!

  2. Ben Keller August 22, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    Enjoying the blog, Rachel! The pictures of the grilled artichokes look fantastic, and so does the Huevos Rancheros. See you in a couple weeks 🙂

  3. liz August 22, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    that last tapa is one of my faves–pimientos i think they’re called? never have charred peppers and salt been so delicious…!

    also, santa fe is one of my fave places ever. food, scenery, jewelry… looove.

  4. Candy August 22, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

    I thought my breakfast @ Cafe Pasquals was one of,if not the most breakfast meal I have ever had. The grilled polenta sitting in a bowl of red chile and covered with the scrambled egg, corn and cheese was absolutely delicious. I certainly didn’t go hungry at any of the other restaurants…but this place is one to be remembered!

    • Hillary August 22, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

      I am so glad I you all like Cafe Pasquals, we loved it when we went to Santa Fe too. I got a bowl from there, it says panza llena corazon contento – I definitely had a full stomach and content heart when I left!

  5. Lawrence Maze August 22, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    The food looks beautiful and delicious! I’m impressed with the blog. Glad the G’s had such a good time…

  6. Leah August 23, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

    my mouth is watering looking at all of these pictures again. pasqual’s was AMAZING.. as well as everything else! i LOVED santa fe – i can’t wait to get back there!

  7. Ashley September 14, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

    Wow, I’d like to visit Santa Fe after reading this post. The Mexican food here in Jax is pretty good — I can’t imagine how delicious the stuff would be in Santa Fe.

  8. Leah G March 19, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    I WANT TO GO BACK!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Working out – while away! « Eat More Meat Less - August 23, 2010

    […] Aug It’s important to me to stay physically active when on vacation, especially since I tend to indulge on the local restaurants. I enjoy getting up in the morning and working out so that I feel energized and ready to take on […]

Leave a Reply

