Working out – while away!

23 Aug

It’s important to me to stay physically active when on vacation, especially since I tend to indulge on the local restaurants. I enjoy getting up in the morning and working out so that I feel energized and ready to take on the day’s activities. How did I do this on my most recent vacation to Santa Fe?

Fortunately, my family is very fitness-focused and they also enjoy getting their exercise in on a regular basis, 7 times a week! I inherited my passion for working out from them.

Parents Post-Workout

My sister, on the right and me, on the left, wearing matching shirts during our walk!

Typically, when on vacation, we look for hotels in areas that are walker-friendly and near sights that we might want to see. Santa Fe was a beautiful backdrop to our morning walks.

We were able to relish in the natural beauty of the mountains and the gorgeous homes.

We even saw animals on the walks!

As I’ve mentioned before, Miami is flat and uphill climbs on both foot and bike are now tough for me, because I am used to flat roads. In Santa Fe, most of our walks were uphill and I utilized my heart rate monitor to understand my heart rate during these walks. While my heart rate is typically in the mid 120s during a walk in Miami, my heart rate was in the mid 160s during the walks in Santa Fe!

Family hiking uphill!

On the last night, we stayed in Albuquerque and the area that the hotel was in was not walker-friendly (we were located right near the highway) and the hotel didn’t have a fitness center! Luckily for us, the hotel had reciprocity with the neighboring gym. We headed to the Midtown Sports and Wellness early in the morning (my flight was at 9:30 am). I found the gym to be extremely impressive – pools, racquetball courts, two floors of cardio and weights equipment and classrooms for group activities. My parents and sister decided to make use of the cardio equipment and spent their time on the elliptical and treadmill. I decided to go to the 6am spinning class. I am always up for trying classes at other gyms! The class was full of experienced and dedicated cyclists. The bike had a device attached to it, which I really enjoyed; it measured the RPMs, distance and it connected with my heart rate monitor to give me my accurate heart rate during the hour long spinning class. I found this to be fascinating, especially after my workout was done and I could what I had accomplished in an hour!

Device on Spinning Bike at gym (I had stopped pedaling at this point), but look - I did close to 19 miles in a 1 hour spinning class!

Do you like working out on vacation? Or do you like taking a break from your normal workout schedule?

PS – Happy birthday to the most fitness-focused person I know, my mom!!

8 Responses to “Working out – while away!”

  1. Leah August 23, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    i vaguely remember saying during our vacation… “you’ll thank me later for taking all of these pictures!!” 🙂

  2. Candy August 23, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    My motto is no vacation without a good exercise to start the day. Be it walking the surrounding areas or using a local fitness facility really gets me going in the AM. This allows me to enjoy the cuisine of the area that we are visiting.

  3. Sandy August 23, 2010 at 8:01 pm #

    Wish my guys would exercise with me! It’s not as much fun to go it alone. Have to hang out with the Goldsteins!

  4. Hiral August 23, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

    Its good to hear a beautiful woman like you : ) taking up the challenge of staying fit. People nowadays just eat so unhealthy and are so unfit. Keep up the good work.

  5. Margo August 24, 2010 at 8:06 am #

    I love working out in the morning, such a nice way to wake up. This is a great idea for my next vacation.

  6. Beth August 24, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    I try to work out while on vacation and ALWAYS pack my clothes so that I can workout if the opportunity arises.

  7. Erin Malone August 24, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    I rarely work out while on vacation, unless I am visiting my mom or on vacation with my mom! I like the idea of a good morning walk to start the day and what a great way to see a new city!

  8. Ashley September 14, 2010 at 5:08 pm #

    I try to work out on vacation but it’s usually a solo effort — I get up before everyone else to run or walk. Before my St. Augustine trip I ran a treadmill 5K and went to Spinning the next day.

Leave a Reply

