Long Overdue!

13 Sep

Yes, this post is extremely long overdue. If blog posts were like library books, I have a feeling I would have racked up some serious fees, given the length of time it’s been since I last wrote a post. At least I have a few good excuses keeping me away from the blogosphere…

Last weekend, my cousin got married!

My sister and I are very close with my cousins, so it was wonderful to spend time with them, other members of our family and friends that I don’t get to see that often. The weekend was filled great events, meals and good times.

Cousins and Aunts Picture!

Between the wedding day brunch, authentic-themed Mexican lunch, Shabbat dinner, Rehearsal Dinner and a bridesmaid lunch, we still had time (although not much room left in our pants) for the hospitality room at the hotel. Over time, I’ve come to understand that the hospitality room is not a known concept amongst many of my peers and friends that live outside of Texas; so I thought I’d take some time to explain it. A hospitality room is a gathering area during celebratory weekends, like bar/bat mitzvahs and weddings, for everyone to convene, eat and relax in between weekend events. Typically, the hospitality room is located at the hotel where the guests are staying for the weekend; it can be in a conference room or a part of a suite at the hotel. In a given hospitality room, you will find drinks, baked goods and snacks…and, because we were in Texas, there was plenty of bbq for sandwich making. Did the non-meat eater starve? Ha, never! My plate(s) consisted of cheeses and crackers, hummus and my all-time-favorite snack – puppy chow (a special thanks to my sister who made this for the hospitality room).

Are you familiar with this concoction? If not, don’t get scared, it’s not really dog food (although it does look like it!) It’s Chex cereal made with melted peanut butter, chocolate chips and topped with powdered sugar. As I mentioned, this is my all-time favorite snack and it’s absolutely addicting.

Overall, the weekend was great fun and it was such a beautiful wedding. My cousin was a gorgeous bride and she and her husband were just so happy throughout the whole weekend, they were glowing! I was glad to be a part of their special day.

Happy couple enjoying the groom's cake!

I promise to update the blog on a more regular basis, keep looking out for new posts soon!

Do you have a ‘go-to’ favorite snack? What is it? If not, it’s time you make puppy chow!

8 Responses to “Long Overdue!”

  1. Ben September 13, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

    Both of those are such great pictures of the two of them!

  2. Leah September 13, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    Love the photos and of course the puppy chow. What is a hospitality room without it? So great seeing you. Hope to see you again soon.

  3. Ben Keller September 13, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

    I must admit the whole concept of the hospitality room was new to me, but it was just one more addition to an excellent weekend. Puppy Chow – YUMMM!!!

  4. Sergio Mankita September 13, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

    Pardon my ignorance about human puppy chow — (I prefer to interact with animals in the wild – like in Africa) –but can this Puppy Chow be accessorized with other ethnic delicacies? Like guacamole (mexican), tzatziki (greek), babaganoosh (lebanese). Can you buy it by the bag or by the pound? Are meat-eaters allowed to have Puppy Chow as well?

    –Inquiring Serge

  5. Leah G September 13, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

    I didn’t realize hospitality rooms were such a Texas thing… I guess we’re all about Southern Hospitality down here! But I love them. And puppy chow. 🙂

  6. Janna September 14, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    i might have to make a batch of puppy chow all for myself. yummmm. miss you cousins!!!

  7. Ashley September 14, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    I have not had puppy chow in forever! Now I want some!

    Your sister was a beautiful bride!

  8. LSD September 22, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    i love puppy chow! nice to see it exists on a food blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

