Favorite foods from A-Z

20 Sep

Warning: Not your typical Eat More Meat Less post! I recently saw this on a blog that I follow, Beth’s Journey (thanks for letting me borrow the idea!), and thought I’d give it a try too. It’s a list of my favorite foods, using the ABCs!

Asparagus. One of my favorite vegetables, I particularly loved them grilled.
Beans. A staple in my vegetarian diet, these are always a great go-to protein. I’ve always really liked refried and black beans, but I’ve recently discovered white cannellini beans – a great addition to salads.
Cheese. From the classic cheddar to the more complex Port Salut, I truly enjoy it all! It’s also the foundation for the grilled cheese sandwich – which has been a favorite of mine since I was a child.

Dill pickles. Speaking of grilled cheese sandwiches, nothing pairs better with it than a dill pickle.
Egg whites. The perfect thing to eat on Sunday mornings. Light, fluffy and best complemented with cheese and veggies.
Frosting. Okay – so I like cake and cupcakes, but we all know that the star of both desserts is the frosting! I happen to love the frosting from the cakes at Costco.
Gnocchi. My favorite Italian dish, homemade potato or cheese dumplings, paired with fresh mozzarella makes a wonderful dinner.
Hummus. I’m a huge fan of hummus; not only because it tastes great but also because it’s a healthy dish that can be a spread on sandwiches or a great dip. There are so many brands out there, but Cedars brand (which I find at Whole Foods) is at the top of my list!

Ice cream. My favorite flavor is peanut butter, which is not always that easy to find!
Java. So it’s not a food, but coffee is a must in my daily diet. What can I say? I always need a java buzz!
Ketchup. One of my favorite condiments and extremely necessary on the aforementioned egg whites!

Lettuce. I know it may not sound too exciting, but lettuce is a wonderful vegetable and it is the foundation for such great dishes – iceberg wedge, taco salad, Greek salad.
Macaroni and cheese. I’m definitely a kid at heart; anytime I see macaroni and cheese on a menu out a restaurant, my eyes light up! It’s one of those comfort meals that I don’t eat often, but I love it when others make it for me.

Naan. It may sound strange that I don’t love Indian food, as a vegetarian because there are so many options, but I absolutely love naan. It actually reminds me of the homemade pita bread we used to make at camp growing up.
Oatmeal. It’s a healthy breakfast option that keeps me full for hours.
Potatoes. Every week, I have them on my grocery list because there are so many ways to make them! I most enjoy oven fries and baked potatoes.
Quesadillas. Being from Texas, Tex-Mex is my favorite type of food. I love quesadillas because they are easy to make and you can get creative on what you put inside them, mmm….grilled onions and spinach.
Reese’s. Hands down my favorite candy. I love the pieces and the cups and I also love mashing them in my ice cream (even if it’s peanut butter flavor – the more peanut butter, the better!)

Smoothies. I enjoy them because they are so refreshing and every time I make a smoothie – it’s a unique combination that somehow always tastes slightly different than the last time I made it!
Toast. You may think this is too simple to be a favorite, but I really enjoy a hot baguette or piece of challah straight from the toaster.
Udon noodles. These are great in a broth or just with vegetables.
Veggie burgers. Let’s just say, I have a couple of favorites…
Whipped cream cheese. I love it mixed with olives and because it’s whipped – a little goes a long way!
X-Mas cookies. So this one is a stretch, but I must say – I love the soft sugar cookies that have the frosting and sprinkles on top…you can buy at them at the grocery store buy at Christmas time.

Yogurt. I really enjoy frozen yogurt, a healthy alternative to one of my previously mentioned favorites – ice cream and Greek yogurt, which is packed with protein.
Zatar. If you’ve made it this far, you already read that we used to make pita bread at camp. When it was warm and right off of the hot fire, we would top it with Zatar, which is a really unique Middle Eastern spice.

After this exercise, I realized many of my favorite foods start with the same letter. For example, the letter P – I went back and forth because I like Potatoes, Peanut Butter and Pizza so much it was difficult to pick a favorite!

Try doing this exercise, it’s not as easy as it seems! Do you and I have any favorites in common?

13 Responses to “Favorite foods from A-Z”

  1. Beth September 20, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

    Wasn’t this so fun!? Thanks for the shoutout!! And CHEESE is one of the main reasons I could never be a vegan…

  2. Sandy September 20, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

    I truly love your passion for food! It exudes in every one of your descriptions!

  3. Miriam September 20, 2010 at 9:04 pm #

    I love the whipped cream cheese with olives on a rye triscut! Good list. I agree with all. Especially the picture of the x-mas cookies. Those cakey ones are the best!

  4. Miriam September 20, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

    I love the whipped cream cheese with olives especially on a rye triscut! I also ditto many of your options but I love the pic of the x-mas cookies. Those are a favorite as the cakey combo WITH the thick frosting is always a winner.

  5. Ben September 20, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

    Everyone loves Ice Cream, and cheese, those are too easy. But I still think its pretty funny I had never had Gnocchi until we had it together. And I agree with Miriam The X-Mas cookies do look very good!

  6. Damaris September 20, 2010 at 9:50 pm #

    I triple-love this posting, Rach!!!!!!!! It’s so your voice and I think it’s a great posting…yay to your blog 🙂

  7. Leah G September 21, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    LOVE IT!! peanut butter and potatoes (french fries) are in my top for sure. also, i don’t remember putting za’atar on the pita bread at camp – but those were AMAZING. i want to go back and do the campouts just for that!

  8. Audrey Palacios September 21, 2010 at 10:08 am #

    Why do I always read your blog when I’m hungry? Bad idea. Love lots of your favorites, though. I could probably eat my way through your fridge.

  9. Tina September 22, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    I love the idea of this post! I’ve seen it on another blog (other than Beth’s) and love each one I read. So much fun. 🙂

  10. Leah September 23, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    I second Leah’s reply (haha sounds redundant) about the camp pita. I loved it more than the hobopacks. Speaking of which my friend Mel made some once during Med School…much nicer than the real deal. I bet you could turn her recipe into a veggie dream. =)

  11. sophia September 26, 2010 at 11:40 pm #

    I share the same faves with you on almost all of them except egg whites (prefer them whole), frosting, smoothie, and hummus. My favorite pasta is gnocchi too, I spread ketchup even on chocolate chip cookies and rice, and I’m a total cheese-whore.

  12. Teri [a foodie stays fit] September 27, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    This was such a fun post! I think it would be hard to come up with something for EVERY letter! We love many of the same things, like naan, toast and those sugar cookies at Christmas. 🙂

  13. Angela (the diet book junkie) October 10, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

    hmm….i think i would have a lot of C’s, like cereal chocolate, and coffee (yes, i am a health nut.) looking forward to reading more of your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

