Change of seasons!

30 Sep

As the weather cools down around many parts of the country, I’m beginning to crave to comfort foods that remind me of fall. I have been spending some quality time in the kitchen lately, experimenting with dishes that make me remember that the season is (or will be…) changing (hey- if I don’t do it in my kitchen, I don’t know if I can rely on the temperatures actually dropping in Miami!)

So, I ventured to buy a spaghetti squash, a vegetable that screams fall to me. Spaghetti squash is great because it acts as a healthy, hearty and lower-fat substitute to pasta. How did I create this delicacy?

Well, first set the oven to 400 degrees. Then, I took the spaghetti squash and rubbed some olive oil on the outside and poked many holes in it with a knife.

Keep the spaghetti squash in the oven for about 50 minutes and then take it out to cool for about five minutes before cutting it in half. After cutting it, take out all of the seeds and starting scouring the squash with a fork immediately; you will soon start to see spaghetti-like strings. Discard the seeds and put the spaghetti strings into a bowl.

There are many ways you can serve this dish and I decided to put an Italian spin on it. While the spaghetti squash was in the oven, I took cherry tomatoes and put some olive oil and kosher salt over them and roasted them in the oven, along side the squash, until they started to burst (about 35 minutes).

I also sautéed onions and spinach to throw in the mix. After the tomatoes were roasted and the other ingredients were sautéed, I mixed them in a bowl with the spaghetti squash.

Finally (and save the best part for last!), I cut up chunks of fresh mozzarella and mixed it throughout the dish. Personally, I like the dish kicked up with some spice – so I add crushed red pepper throughout as well.

Have you started cooking with new ingredients now that the seasons are changing? What are your favorite fall dishes?

5 Responses to “Change of seasons!”

  1. vmacandcheese September 30, 2010 at 11:26 am #

    Funny you posted this. I had my own adventure with spaghetti squash earlier this week. The piercing with the knife at the beginning is the most important part. http://vmacandcheese.com/2010/09/28/note-to-self/

  2. LSD September 30, 2010 at 11:36 am #

    im planning on making beans and rice this weekend mmmmmm

  3. Candy September 30, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

    so glad your mother could teach you such an incredibly wonderful healthy meal! Absolutely one of my favorites!!

  4. Nicky October 17, 2010 at 8:33 am #

    I have ALWAYS wanted to know how to cook spaghetti squash! You just unlocked a mystery of life! Thanks 🙂

  5. mollyparr October 21, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    If time’s ever an issue, you can prick holes in the squash like you did, then pop it in the microwave for 15 minutes. That’s how I did mine last night. Easy peasy.

Leave a Reply

