Weekend Routines

16 Oct

We are creatures of habit in the way that we choose to live our lives. For example, my mom has eaten the same lunch 5 days a week for 23 years. She claims that she never gets tired of her melba toast and cottage cheese, while I beg to differ, I am starting to think that she’s on to something.

Since I took up boxing as a hobby 7 months ago and spinning about 4 years ago, I love having the weekends as extra time to devote to fitness. When I’m not doing the monthly bike ride, I am a regular at my gym just before 9am on Saturdays and Sundays. I take spinning class at 9am and I even try to use the same bike every weekend! I’ve written about my love for spinning before and so much of that is attributed to the instructor and their music selection. If you were to ever catch me mid-class in the cycling studio, you’d see me jamming out and singing along out to some great tunes. After spinning, I typically run out of the room to start wrapping my hands for the upcoming boxing class.

Lately, on Saturdays, I work out on my own until Randall “The Knockout King” Bailey gets to the gym. Randall is a welterweight world-champion boxer and quite frankly, he kicks my ass every time I work out with him. He is training for an upcoming boxing match in December in Belgium. What I enjoy most about Randall’s way of teaching is that the class is based on technique, and because of his background, he can teach us all so much about the proper way to box. Oh yea, and I like that he takes me into the ring and I get to go one-on-one with him!

On Sundays, you can imagine my schedule is slightly similar to Saturdays. (hey – I did start the blog post off by saying I was a creature of habit!) I love getting my spinning workout in first thing in the morning, because it not only revs me up for the boxing class that follows, but it also gives me such a positive attitude for the entire day. After Sunday’s spinning class, I take a class that focuses on boxing, cardio and boot camp exercises. The trainer for this class actually teaches about 15 classes a week at my gym; he’s been boxing since he was 7 years old! From this class, I’ve learned that I love jumping rope and running around the block as a group.

At the same time, I’ve also learned that I strongly dislike the part of the class where we do mountain climbers and pushups! My favorite part of the class is the portion where we focus on boxing and bag work.

As I’ve mentioned before, not many other fitness activities come close to how great boxing is for you, physically and mentally. I know it may seem like a great deal of time to focus on fitness each weekend morning, but I enjoy the exhilaration during both classes, as well as how I feel after a solid two-hour workout!

Are you a creature of habit in your daily life? If so, does that pertain to fitness, restaurants you frequent or even the way you take your coffee?

12 Responses to “Weekend Routines”

  1. Erica October 16, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

    Now I really want to try boxing! There is an LA Boxing gym close by, maybe I’ll venture into there one day… Any advice for a newbie?

    • eatmoremeatless October 16, 2010 at 4:30 pm #

      You should def. try it out! My advice would be stick with it for a few days and see if it’s a workout that is appealing to you. You must keep me posted!

  2. Ruth October 16, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

    I love boxing! I was( past tense bc I haven’t gone in a while) doing a class 2-3 times a week and getting the form down..I’m 100% with you on the mountain climbers and push up hatred 🙂

    • eatmoremeatless October 16, 2010 at 5:37 pm #

      Where do/did you box? A friend of mine who boxed with Miami just moved to NYC and is trying to find a boxing gym!

  3. Nicky October 17, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    Reading this while driving across Texas… It’s making me remember how much I enjoyed taking classes at the gym (especially on the weekends). The positive energy from those around me definitely contributed to how great I felt afterwards! Great post Rach and I can’t wait to get back into a gym!

  4. Leah G October 17, 2010 at 9:42 am #

    my whole life is a routine! no, really. every single day. from the moment i wake up, until the moment i get into bed at night, i do everything the same – depending on the day of the week. making my bed, getting dressed, spending time on the computer, the things i eat, my workout routine, tv, you name it! it has changed as i’ve gotten older, but i’m definitely a creature of habit.

    some may call it boring. but it’s just the type of person i am. i can’t help it.

  5. margo October 18, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    I’m definitely a creature of habit. I have pretty much a standard breakfast mon-friday or cottage cheese and fruit. I started taking pilates a year ago and love it. My body feels so good afterwards, I go to class about three days a week and do cardio on the other days. You should try it sometime!

  6. Beth October 19, 2010 at 11:19 am #

    I am definitely a creature of habit. I really like sticking to a routine with my schedule but do enjoy changing up my meals and activities.

  7. Vicky @ eat live spin October 19, 2010 at 3:44 pm #

    I am definitely a creature of habit… my favorite workout is spinning at a studio called FlyWheel (the only place I go) and I have 2 favorite restaurants (which no other food compares)…

  8. Gules October 20, 2010 at 7:36 am #

    I’ve always wanted to try both–boxing and spinning. Just need to find the courage to do that. Your post has got me pumped up so I’ll have to research some classes nearby and give it a try.

  9. Lauren @ Team Giles October 21, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    Fun! I’ve always wanted to box. I’ve been looking for a place around me that offers that. Haven’t found anything yet. But I’m definitely going to be look more now after reading this. I want to do it! 🙂

  10. Sharishta November 5, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    Spinning and then boxing?! That’s so hard core!! I tried spinning again for the first time a couple weeks ago and it kicked my butt! But I did feel great afterwards, no doubt. Thanks for the motivation 🙂

Leave a Reply

