My blog appetite is back!

28 Mar

As you know, it’s been awhile since I’ve blogged. Many of you have asked why that is and my simple, yet truthful answer has been that I’ve lost my blogging mojo. Over the past five months, I haven’t felt inspired to write about new restaurants or my own culinary adventures. However, after a recent long weekend trip out west to San Francisco with Ben, I was quickly re-inspired and brought back to writing about my love for food.

San Francisco is known for its great food and the restaurants were especially accommodating to my vegetarian diet. I wasn’t able to capture everything we consumed, but I think you will understand why I am excited to write again about my fun food experiences 🙂

This was actually my first trip to San Francisco! One of our first stops was a French bakery, La Boulange Bakery, which happens to be a chain that’s located across the Bay area.

I was hankering for some fresh baked goods and instead of choosing one, we decided to split three different kinds- whole-wheat sesame croissant, chocolate croissant and a feta scallion roll!

I have to let you in on a secret though….my trip was not done completely on the fly. I spent a great deal of time planning, researching and consulting with an old friend and fantastic blogger, Victoria, who gave us some wonderful suggestions.

One of her recommendations was Pizzeria Delfina in Pacific Heights.

It was a good thing I also read some reviews before we went, so that we knew to expect a long line and that we needed to write our name on a chalkboard in order to get seated!

Once seated, we ordered a broccoli rabe pizza, which was fantastic.

After spending some time in San Francisco, I’m excited to go back and compare Pizzeria Delfina to its rivals, Flour + Water and A16.

We were lucky that we were able to spend a Saturday (though a very rainy one) at the farmer’s market at the Ferry building. We had such a great time talking to the local vendors, checking out their fresh produce and all of the other products that were there. We sampled some amazing cheeses, tapenades and breads.

The majority of our trip was spent in San Francisco, but we also did get the chance to go out to Napa Valley for a day. Stay tuned for my next blog post on our time in the wine country!

Have you ever been on a trip that has inspired you? If not, do you have anything planned in the near future?

7 Responses to “My blog appetite is back!”

  1. Ben March 28, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    Just looking at the picture of that pizza makes me want to go back and order it again even though I want to try the others as well

  2. Erin Lawler March 28, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    Can you please blog about fashion, too? Your striped sweater is adorable!

  3. Marci March 28, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    Glad you’re back. Love SF! And the ferry building.

  4. candy March 28, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

    The broccoli rabe pizza looks fabulous. Actually so do the croissants! Yum Yum!

  5. Leah G March 29, 2011 at 12:31 am #

    i’m just excited you made it over to 1709 broderick street. (made my life…just saying.)

  6. vmacandcheese March 31, 2011 at 1:40 am #

    Hi Rach! Glad your blog mojo is back…we all missed you! So when are you and Ben moving to SF???? 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A day of tastings… « Eat More Meat Less - March 31, 2011

    […] I mentioned in my last blog post, Ben and I went on vacation to San Francisco and one day during our trip, we took a day trip out to […]

Leave a Reply

