A day of tastings…

31 Mar

As I mentioned in my last blog post, Ben and I went on vacation to San Francisco and one day during our trip, we took a
day trip out to Napa Valley!

Though I’ve never mentioned it on the blog before, I love wine. It’s my alcoholic beverage of choice and being able to learn more about it was really great. This day trip was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable days I can remember!

We started the day off doing an educational tour and tasting at Cakebread Cellars.

We walked through the vineyard, learned about grapes and harvesting season.

Then, we walked through building where the wine is fermented and aged in bulk barrels.

It was fascinating to see the entire wine making process and then to taste the finished product at the winery.

After Cakebread, we decided to grab a quick bite to eat at Oakville Grocery, a cute neighborhood grocery store.

We both got great homemade sandwiches and sat outside at their picnic tables.

As you can see, Ben is loving his chicken salad sandwich and though not pictured, I was chowing down on my mozzarella and tomato sandwich!

Next up – we went to St. Supery Winery. I had read great reviews about their 2010 Sauvignon Blanc. The people that work at this winery were really wonderful. If you’ve been to a wine tasting at a winery before, you know that depending on what tasting you choose to do, you can try anywhere from 3-6 wines. I’m fairly certain we tasted 6-8 wines each! I learned so much from the staff at this winery and I would definitely recommend it.

Finally, we went to Cliff Lede Winery – another winery known for its Sauvignon Blanc. This winery is set in a gorgeous part of Napa Valley.

There is a courtyard that connects the tasting room to a gallery space that features contemporary art. The gallery had some beautiful artwork in it and it is open to all of those that participate in a tasting at Cliff Lede.

We spent time talking to the staff at this winery too. At this point in the day, I came to understand that so many of the people that live in this area value great food and wine. We spoke about local restaurants and some of their favorite dishes. It was so nice to meet these new people and realize our similar interests.

As you can imagine at this point in the day, we were extremely full from all of the wine and we needed a break from tastings. So we spent time driving through St. Helena, Rutherford, Yountville and Napa – all such quaint towns. We saw some of the most renowned restaurants in the world, as well as others that had great local flair.

We ended our Napa Valley excursion at Mustards Grill for dinner, which was an amazing meal.

Unfortunately, it was too dark inside the restaurant and none of the pictures came out. Take my word for it and the next time you are out that way, make a reservation there!

Have you ever been to a winery or done a wine tasting before? Do you enjoy it?

9 Responses to “A day of tastings…”

  1. Leah G March 31, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    so happy for you that you finally got your napa experience. i know it’s something you’ve been dreaming about for years! maybe one day soon you can go back for longer – i know there is so much more out there to do + see. as long as you made it to mustards though, you’re good. 😉

    and i went to wineries in israel, but they definitely don’t compare!

  2. margo March 31, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    Love this, looks like you had a great time.

  3. Audrey Palacios Colorado March 31, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    This post totally makes me want to go back to Napa right now. It’s been almost 2 years since we were there, I think it’s about time for another visit! I loved Cakebread too. We have friends going to Napa this week and I told them they HAVE to go to Cakebread.

    I saw you took a photo of Bouchon. Did you all eat there? It’s so yummy! There’s some really good places in Sonoma you would like too. The Girl and the Fig was one of our fav Sonoma restaurants. I loved all the food and wine in the Napa/Sonoma area. So delicious!

  4. Erin Cuan March 31, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

    Wow it sounds like you had a great time! I can’t wait to go to Napa and have these amazing food/wine experiences! I have only been to one vineyard in my life- outside San Diego. I wonder how Southern California and Northern California vineyards differ…I’m sure quite a lot.

    Keep on blogging! Maybe you should take a culinary journey to NYC for some inspiration!

  5. Rista April 14, 2011 at 12:46 am #

    I love the picture of you and Ben in front of the hearts. So happy you guys had a great time. Miss you!! xoxo

  6. Sandy Hayashi May 13, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    Dear Eat More Meat Less,

    We are huge fans of your blog over at Glam Media! We’re one of the top 10 online media companies in the US and would love for you to help pilot our new Health & Wellness Community at Bliss.com, slated to launch in the coming weeks.

    If you’re interested, please contact me about joining our community for the launch!

    Cheers,

    Sandy Hayashi
    Community Partners Editor
    Glam Media
    sandyh@glam.com

  7. Diane Fit to the Finish June 19, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    It looks so lovely! I’ve never toured a winery, but in college I went to one wine tasting. It was fun! Now I don’t drink alcohol, but I would still love to take a tour!

  8. Mike September 1, 2012 at 10:19 am #

    I don’t drink wine or alcohol am I missing out?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Something Old & Something New « feliz is her name - April 20, 2011

    […] In honor of National Grilled Cheese Month (yes, it’s in April!), I thought I’d do a post in response to a food/exercise blog I love to follow: Eat More Meat Less. It chronicles this blogger’s adventures in fitness and as a vegetarian foodie and I’m always interested to see what she posts about. She experiments with different recipes and quite wonderfully tells of her culinary explorations. She recently did several posts on a trip to San Francisco…check out her day in wine country here! […]

Leave a Reply

